Pink Flamingos

Finally back in my hotel room after an exhausting day of exploring on my second day off. Plans to go up Victoria Peak were abandoned when we woke up to low cloud, drizzle and wind this morning, and I wasn’t sure we were going to be able to get much done, but it turned out to be a very productive day! I took a walk around Kowloon park this morning, where they have an aviary full of tropical birds, and beautiful flamingos. It’s such a surreal setting; lush, green vegetation and tropical animals set against a backdrop of skyscrapers and city noise.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This afternoon saw us sat on the Star Ferry heading over to Hong Kong island. It was my first real experience of walking along the streets of the island; if you don’t like crowds this definitely isn’t the place for you! It makes Kowloon seem like a country village – there are people everywhere, traffic is crazy and buildings are crammed together making it feel almost claustrophobic. We navigated our way to Tim’s Kitchen, a Michelin star dim sum restaurant. Not having tried dim sum before I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I loved it! Well, I loved the barbecued pork puffs and buns; not so keen on the vegetable rice rolls, which were too slimy looking for my liking! As we arrived two minutes before last orders for lunch, we had the place to ourselves and it was so good to enjoy an oasis of calm after battling the crowds!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Feeling revived after lunch, we went on to Man Mo Temple, a stereotypical Chinese temple where locals come to worship the god of literature and the god of war. The interior is very ornate, with gilt plaques on poles and traditional lanterns; as well as incense sticks, there are scores of incense spirals hanging from the ceiling, and the smell was so intense it was a relief to go back outside!

So that’s me signing off for a few days as I get ready to start the second working week. I won’t have the luxury of a taxi for my commute this week, which means tomorrow will be my first day of navigating my way around the MTR, Hong Kong’s metro system. Let’s hope I don’t get lost!

2 thoughts on “Pink Flamingos

Leave a Reply

