The Green Green Grass of Home…

…ok well not quite, but my move to the New Territories has made me realise how much of a country girl I actually am! After three weeks of 24 hour noise and busyness, the laid back pace of my new hotel has been a very welcome change. I was a bit worried I’d get lonely, being the only female colleague staying here, but actually it’s been a lot of fun and I’ve obtained a new nickname – ‘the Welsh dresser’ 😄

My room at the Hyatt Regency, Sha Tin is a long stay suite so I have a microwave, fridge, toaster, dining table and sofa! It makes a big difference being able to cook basic meals (jacket potatoes, beans on toast) so I can occasionally have a quiet night in rather than having to go and forage for food. Saying that, this week we went to the professor’s dining club at the Chinese University  and it was great to experience a really authentic Chinese dining area; plus the sweet and sour pork was so good!image

We’re halfway through our time here now, and life in the UK feels like a distant memory – it’s amazing how quickly you can settle into a routine and way of life in a country so different to your own! Last weekend the exhaustion really kicked in, so I’m making a point of taking time to relax this weekend, which is difficult when there’s so much I want to see and do. We did manage a visit to the Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery today, thankfully the weather was a bit cooler (about 23C!) which made climbing 400 steps a bit easier! The whole pathway up to the monastery is lined with Buddah statues, and the main temple is stacked floor to ceiling with little Buddahs and is very ornate. Photography inside the temple wasn’t allowed, but the view from the top was lovely, and you could really notice the difference in the air; it was a lot fresher up there!

So there’s only three weeks left and I have a feeling they are going to fly by! It’s been an amazing experience so far and I’m so grateful my job allows me to have these incredible opportunities ☺️

Leave a Reply

